mini side project

I needed a creative outlet yesterday so bad! So I headed into the craft room to check out my fabric stash, which by the way is a complete disaster. I’ve had buntings and banners on the mind lately…so I found some burlap and some cute red fabrics and dove right in.

It’s not complete yet, but I’m really happy with how it’s coming out. I’ve already scouted out the perfect spot for it in the living room. Burlap is such a pain in the butt to work with though. I searched the house for something that I could use to keep the edges from fraying. I ended up using nail polish top-coat and it worked like a charm! So I cut the hearts out and ironed them onto the burlap rectangles.

Now I’m in the process of hand-stitching around the hearts with embroidery floss.

When the stitching is all done I’m going to string the rectangles on some twine and call it a day! It’s the perfect rainy day project…although yesterday wasn’t rainy. It was REALLY hot though and there was no way I was going outside, so it might as well have been a rainy day. More pics to come when it’s finito!

3 Comments to “mini side project”

  1. This is so cute! Look forward to seeing the finished project!

  2. Well right now I am on the letter K…it is slow progress with a baby, that’s for sure! šŸ™‚

Leave a comment